Past Deans


Major General Dr N Lakshmipathi
Founder-Dean-Indian College of Nuclear Medicine (1997)

Dr. Major General N Lakshmipathi known for his steadfastness, discipline and progressive thinking, he was one of the pioneers of Indian Nuclear Medicine; contributing to its growth and development for several decades in almost all areas of the specialty. He was the founder Dean of the Indian College of Nuclear Medicine. His role in the establishment of Institute of Nuclear Medicine and Allied Science in New Delhi is very well known. If today INMAS is one of the best organizations of Nuclear Medicine in India, dealing with patient care, research and teaching, a lot of credit for that should go to Major General Lakshmipathi. He expired on 6 January 2013 at the age of 84 and remained active practicing Nuclear Medicine till his last breath. Dr. Lakshmipathi remained as President of the Society of Nuclear Medicine. Dr. Major General N Lakshmipathi after having contributed to the speciality of Nuclear Medicine for 40 long years expired on 6 January 2013 at the age of 84. Sir, We All Salute you and will miss you always !

Prof. Dr. DK Hazra
Dean-Indian College of Nuclear Medicine (2003)

Prof. Daya Kishore Hazra is an Indian medical doctor, known for his expertise in nuclear medicine and endocrinology. His contribution to the growth of Nuclear medicine, SNMI and ICNM is unparalleled. The Government of India honoured him, in 2014, with the award of Padma Shri, the fourth highest civilian award, for his contributions to the fields of medicine. Prof. Hazra is still in active practice at Agra (UP). Prof. Hazra remained President of the Society of Nuclear Medicine –India and is an Fellow of the National Academy of Medical Sciences.

Prof. BK Das

Dean-Indian College of Nuclear Medicine (2005)

Prof. Das had his basic medical education in Germany. After completing his specialization in Radiation Sciences and Nuclear Medicine at the Universities of Berlin and Frankfurt respectively, he worked for 8 years as Associate Head of Nuclear Medicine in a 1200 bedded teaching hospital attached to the University of Frankfurt. After 22 years of stay abroad he came back to India to join the Institute of Medical Sciences in Srinagar as Prof. and Chairman and then joined the prestigious Sanjay Gandhi Postgraduate Institute of Medical sciences, Lucknow and later served as Dean of the Institute.In 1995 Dr. Das was appointed as first Medical Director of the Rajiv Gandhi Cancer Institute and Research Center in New Delhi. Prof. Das had started the M.D. course in Nuclear Medicine for the first time in the country and has been the founding Fellow of the Indian College of Nuclear Medicine. He has over 150 publications in Indian and international journals and has written four books in the subject. Prof. Das is a Fellow of the Indian Academy of Medical Sciences and Fellow of the Asian College of Nuclear Medicine and Association of Biomedical Scientists, India. Among many other Awards, Prof. Das has been honored with the prestigious Vikram Sarabhai Oration Award and the ‘ Life Time Achievement Award ’ by the Society of Nuclear Medicine, for his outstanding contributions in the field. Prof. Das headed the society (SNMI) as President in 1992.


Prof. PS Soni
Dean-Indian College of Nuclear Medicine

Prof. PS Soni served at RMC, BARC, Mumbai for more than 30 years in different capacities. He has the distinction of setting up the country’s first cyclotron at RMC, Mumbai. And he had been active all these long years generating the highly skilled technical manpower in the country. He had been extremely active in research and academics in Nuclear medicine. It is during the tenure of Prof. Soni that the Indian College of Nuclear Medicine (2008-2013) expanded and became visible amongst the SNMI members in terms of academic activities of the college throughout the country. Currently, Dr. Soni is still working as Professor and Head of Nuclear Medicine at Panjab Medical University of Health Sciences at Faridkot. Prof. Soni remained President Society of Nuclear Medicine –India 1998-1999


Prof. Baljinder Singh
Dean-Indian College of Nuclear Medicine

Professor Baljinder Singh as secretary and Dean of the Indian College of Nuclear Medicine (ICNM) for more than 7 (2010-2017) long years played a pivotal role towards the growth of the specialty through the organization of thematic CMEs/workshops (more than 25 activities) in different parts of the country. He could secure funding many-a- times from DFG/IUSSTF and DST for organizing international ICNM-CME and workshops. He has organized many national and international scientific meetings including the prestigious 2nd World Congress on 68Ga and PRRT in 2013 at PGIMER, Chandigarh, India. He is on a number of expert panels of DRDO, BARC, DST, ICMR, DFG, IUSSTF and major Indian universities (DU, BHU, Panjab University, Jamia) of the country. He is a recipient of a large number of awards and fellowships and honours and is widely travelled nationally and internationally and has initiated many international collaborations notably with the University of Bonn, Germany, the University of Munich, Germany and University of Iowa, USA. Professor Baljinder Singh in his tenure as Dean of the college was highly effective in the expansion of the college members and fellows and revival of the Nuclear Medicine week Posters and the joint ICNM-IASNM CME in the annual meetings of the SNMI. During his tenure the strength of the fellows raised to 27 and members to 47. Many national and international Nuclear Medicine experts were also included on board of ICNM as Honorary Fellows. Prof. Singh is currently the President (Elect) Society of Nuclear Medicine-India.